Little Runner Gal

Running, eating, sleeping and all the bits in between

What’s a Real Runner?

on November 2, 2013

I’ve finally got to the stage where I feel like a real runner. But what does that mean? I‘ve always been able to run, even enjoyed it. At school I was pretty good at 100m and 200m, I’m sure there are some bent certificates out there still to prove it. On the handful of occasions I had used the gym memberships I’d signed up to with such good intentions (see, the intention was always there!) I’d always head straight for the treadmill.

Since starting my training for that first half marathon I’ve completed a number of running events, sustained a number of ‘running’ injuries and even been on a course with a running coach. So why now do I only just feel like a runner?

I think it’s because I’ve joined a running club. I’ve always seen club runners and thought ‘those are real runners’, either when driving passed them or out running on my own. I always imagined it to be something that I wasn’t good enough to do, like there was a benchmark to be able to wear the vest. But there’s not! It’s fantastic. And I am good enough. I would have been good enough a year ago. There’s no tick list of achievements or qualifying 10k time, just a mutual appreciation of running.

And therein lies the answer. I feel like a real runner because I just love running. Doing it, talking about it, watching it, reading about it (I now have 2 running books!) and bombarding my social media with it. It’s no longer about the attainment, about dragging myself out to complete my normal route, it’s about wishing my working day away so that I can lace up my trainers, and about scouring the internet for events to sign up for at the weekends. It’s about how animated I become when talking to people about it.

Yes, we’re all competitive. Obviously I want to better my PBs, compete in more events, and increase my medal collection (I do love the bling!) but I truly feel like I now have a proper appreciation for running, and I love it.

I’ve still got a long way to go, who knows when I’ll ‘peak’, and I’m learning all the time, but I’m loving being a real runner.

So just remember, it’s not about what you’ve achieved, but how you feel.

LRG x

Leave a Reply

