Little Runner Gal

Running, eating, sleeping and all the bits in between

Not enough hours…

on November 14, 2013

There just aren’t enough hours in the day! There you go, I’ve said it. We’ve all got so many demands on our time, so how do we go about planning our time to fit in everything we want?

  • I work 9-10 hours a day in an office
  • My total commute is 1 hour (both ways)
  • For muscle recovery, weight loss and general sanity, I should be getting at least 7 hours sleep a night (8 would be preferable, but something’s got to give)
  • I need to meal prep and I need to eat, and I need time after that eating to let the food go down…any rigorous exercise at this stage won’t end well.
  • I need to achieve a weekly mileage target
  • I want to continue to keep up my HIIT and weights workouts
  • I want to spend time with my loved ones and continue some sort of social life
  • I like to wind down before bed, otherwise the sleep thing won’t happen
  • I need time to maintain personal hygiene and get myself into a state that doesn’t scare children when I leave the house.

So knowing what I want/need to do I’ve had to get a serious plan together to hit the mileage targets, fit in my workouts and eat the right things at the right times.

Schedule!  

I’ve got timetables all over the place, the fridge is littered with them – food, running, workouts. Because of my marathon commitments I have prioritised running above my regular workouts, at this stage, so everything works around my weekly mileage plan, then I slot in the other workouts I want to do and finally the food that will fuel me for said appropriate exercise. Then a nice shopping list of the food needed….damn haven’t factored in shopping time!

It’s likely that this might involve some morning activity, so be strict with yourself and get to bed when you need to. I only train 2 or 3 weekday mornings a week so that I still have a couple of later nights and lie ins (if 6:30 counts as a lie in!).

Prep!

I try to do a mass food prep (chicken, salmon, salads, quinoa…) once or twice a week. If you can do it all on a Sunday and have it ready to run out the door with every day then that’s one less thing to worry about.

I get my morning workout gear ready the night before, especially if it’s going to involve a cold run with lots of layers! Look up the weather in advance.

Chill!

This has been the hardest part to grasp, because despite my control freakiness, there will always be things that don’t go to plan or times when I’m risking a speeding fine just to fit in an extra 5 minutes of hill sprints.

Injuries, illnesses and plain old ‘off days’ do happen. Don’t beat yourself up. Contingency planning, emergency planning and even resting are allowed!

Remember, stress weakens the body!

Perspective

And if it all goes belly up, well it’s just one day, it’s not going to set you back.

So it’s not rocket science. I’m not doing anything out of the ordinary and sadly I don’t have the answer to time travel, I just do what I can in the time we all have….which is never enough!

LRG x

 

One response to “Not enough hours…

  1. […] went back and read an old blog post of mine “Not Enough Hours” reminding me to gain a bit of perspective. But it also made me look at how my life has changed […]

Leave a Reply

