Little Runner Gal

Running, eating, sleeping and all the bits in between

Review: Kalenji Elioplay 3 in 1 Jacket

on November 24, 2014

It’s that tricky time of year when you don’t know whether it’ll be cold or warm, wet or dry, and it’s mostly dark!

I run on my own, with the club, with friends and at parkrun, so I’m always considering safety, comfort, keeping warm or cool, and I like to stand out.

This jacket is 3 in 1 as it’s a full jacket, gilet (when you remove the magnetically attached arms and hood) and just the arms and hood section.

IMG_0150

Look

This jacket certainly stands out. The colours are bright, the reflective areas are well placed and the design is eye catching. I particularly like the different coloured sections and the wrap around look of the design. The reflection on the back and pockets is good, it would be great if there were more strips. I’m big on safety in the dark.

IMG_0152

Feel

At first the magnetic arms felt strange to get used to, but only because I expected them to fling off…but they didn’t!! The jacket is a good fit. There’s nothing special about the cut of the body, but it has my favourite thumb holes on the sleeves.

IMG_0148

Wearing the parts individually, the gilet is fantastic. It’s great to wear to keep me seen, and my body waterproof, while the weather is still warm. I’ve not had any reason to just wear the arms and hood yet. I’m not sure if I will. I’d probably wear the whole jacket if I wanted the arms.

Use

I’ve been out loads in this jacket in the last few weeks. On the dark drizzly mornings I wear the full jacket and it’s great for keeping me dry and seen. I’ve been out in the evenings with the club and worn the gilet with a t shirt underneath, more for visibility and use of the pockets.

IMG_0149

Out on the trails I’ve been wearing the full jacket out and then removing the sleeves when I get too warm. My only criticism is that there’s nowhere to put the sleeves when you’re out and about. It would be great to be able to chuck them in a pocket. I’ve had to tie them round my waist.

IMG_0147

All in all a fantastically versatile jacket. For £44.99 you’ve got a light, bright, reflective, waterproof, jacket & gilet in one. With pockets and hood. And it looks good.

You can find it here on the Decathlon website.

Let Santa know you need it!

LRG x

6 responses to “Review: Kalenji Elioplay 3 in 1 Jacket

  1. A great looking running jacket. i can’t say i have heard of the brand before but for £44.99, who cares! Like you said, it’s a shame there isn’t storage for the arms/hood once you have taken them off but that would only be a minor gripe, i’m forever shoving gloves, hats, arm warmers & leg warmers into the waist of my shorts!

    Great post, i’m going to see if they do a mens version!

  2. alis_davidson says:

    I have a similar one and there’s a pocket in the back where you can roll up the sleeves and store them. I’ve yet to achieve rolling up the sleeves so they don’t look like a bustle while running though. Also the sleeves tend to blow off in big gusts of wind (or, I like to think it’s because I’m running so fast). This was only a problem when I lived in Dublin, now that I’m back in the Pacific Westcoast it’s not a problem.

  3. Run Dabblers says:

    Good read. I recently bought the trail running Kiprun jacket but it was too big so may look into this one! Ro

Leave a Reply

